top of page

🐎 Work in Hand #1

Today's Work in Hand lesson showed me some things I have never noticed or seen before!.

I started my day as usual, yoga,stretching and meditation, but today I was so in tuned with the quite noise in my mind, that it transferred into a lesson for my self. I received my long reins today also and decided to use them, they are longer than my normal reins and the thickness my hands seem to handle better. Unfortunately they are stiff and rigid, so I need to soak them in oil and soften them. Any way, I like to groom and massage my horse before any work,to help relax and stimulate his body. So we did our lesson in the field ( its a bigger space than my dressage arena), the sun is shinning,a light breeze and I can feel the warmth of the sun🌞

I am so quiet that I can really focus on my horse and being more in tuned and responsive for him, I had a much more balanced walk with no rushing or speeding up, even though I continuously had to be super quick with my feel of his mouth and being aware of what my body was doing and correcting myself.So much so I noticed that, if I asked for to much angle in the leg yield on his left side going to the right,he would take shorter steps, but when I had a less angle he could take more weight and glide across easier. I also realized that he is stronger with his engagement when he is travelling straight. So I figured out that,when his strength becomes 50 times stronger than he is now,the lateral work will be easier for him to achieve ,with less shorter steps or struggling to step up, under and across.

So the smaller leg yields will be beneficial, rather than a over stretched lateral at this stage in his physical development. Another thing I understand while I was doing this work today,is that my boy's left hind quarter muscles are considerably underdeveloped,compared to his right. I really watched those muscles work whilst in the leg yield to the right, his Lateral Femoral Fascia, Tensor Fascial Latae Muscle and the Bicep Femoris muscle are not stretching correctly. This is why he can not follow through completely on the left rein tracking to the right.

With this knowledge I will now work a little more with that hind leg, than the right until I start to see the increase in muscle development on the left hind quarter. This means I wont do extra work, I will work less on his right hind quarter. This make so much sense to me, as I have to work on my left side of my body to be more flexible,strong and responsive.🧘

The biggest result I had in today's Work in Hand was at the end, I understood what Master "William Faeber" was explaining about the weight of the rein, when it is going smoothly, there should be a nice white moist foam on the corner of the horses lips. Capri had a nice moist soft foam on both corners of his mouth, so this indicates to me that I am getting a good feel and my horse is using his back a lot more.

This makes me understand: If you are quite, you can Hear

If you are quite you can See

If you are quite you can Feel

If you are quite you can Sense

✫*゚・゚。.☆.*。・゚✫*.✫*゚・゚。.☆.*。・゚✫*.✫*゚・゚。.☆.*。・゚✫*.✫*゚・゚。.☆.*。・゚✫*.✫*゚・゚。.☆.*。・゚✫*.✫*゚・゚。.☆.*。・゚✫*.✫

Horse  Muscle Anatomy

morse


©2022 by Classical Equitation Training. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page